The White Album

In keeping with a tradition over here at Lefthanded Conservative of writing about decades-old albums that everyone has already listened to, I figured I may as well write about “The Beatles,” commonly known as “The White Album.”

Since the Beatles catalog isn’t available for streaming, I had to do something I hadn’t done since early September and bought music. Everything else I want to listen to I either already own or is available on Beats Music. I’ve been itching to listen to the The White Album for some time now, and decided to end the wait.

I’ve listened through the entire 30-song double album 6 or 7 times during the past several weeks, and, honestly, I find it a bit underwhelming. It’s not as good as its predecessors “Revolver” and “Sgt. Pepper.”

First, there are too many songs. Several of the 30 tracks appear to be just fillers, songs of subpar quality inserted just to take up space. The White Album would be a lot more listenable if the track listing were cut in half and reduced to a single album. With that said, there are still a few great songs on The White Album, such as “Dear Prudence” and “While My Guitar Gently Weeps.” However, Paul McCartney’s “Mother Nature’s Son” is not only the best song on the album. It is so far my favorite Beatles song, period.

So now, at last, some 47 years after its release, I am familiar with The White Album. It’s a good album, but not great, certainly not the all-time classic that it’s made out to be.

Leave a Reply

