Driving in Nashville

The last two days I have traveled to Franklin for some work-related training. It’s not often I get away from the office like that, and for good reason. As much as I love Nashville, I loathe rush hour. It’s about 36 miles from my office to downtown Franklin. According to my Maps app, this should take 47 minutes. Yesterday, a co-worker and I left the office at 6:40. We didn’t arrive at our destination until 8:35. It was a bonafide comedy of errors. (Yes, we were late.) We departed Franklin at 4:00 in the afternoon and arrived at the office promptly at 5:00 (not too bad). This morning, we left the office at 6:20 and arrived at 7:25. This afternoon, we didn’t leave Franklin until 4:30, and the extra half-hour cost us dearly. We didn’t arrive at the office until just after 6:00. That’s a total of 5.5 hours to cover a total of 144 miles, or an average of 26 mph. And most of that distance is interstate (I-40, I-440 & I-65). I’m not complaining or anything. It’s just the nature of driving in a large metropolitan area. My normal commute is 7 miles, which takes 13-14 minutes, nearly all of it through residential areas. These last two days have caused me immeasurable gratitude for my easy commute.

Leave a Reply

