Taking stock

I saw one of these on another I blog I sometimes read and thought I’d try my hand with it as sort of a way to summarize the various things I’m up to.

Reading: “Insight: Reflections on the Gifts of Being an Introvert” by Beth L. Buelow and “Onward” by Howard Schultz

Listening: “Primrose Green” by Ryley Walker and “Bags’ Groove” by Miles Davis 

Unloading: As much unused stuff as we possibly can

Running: Fifteen miles a week, on average

Waiting: For the 1st Saturday in September and our next drive to Memphis

Using: My old bread machine because you can’t beat homemade bread

Lying: In the hammock as often as I can get away with it

Cooking: Tonight it’s Chili’s, tomorrow (hopefully) steaks on the grill

Dreading: Dentist and annual physical on back-to-back days next week

Smelling: Honeysuckle every time I run along the walking trail in the neighborhood next door

Wondering: How can I make it past 9 p.m. without tiring out?

Wishing: I could somehow kill my grass and spray paint the ground green

Enjoying: The times when it rains

Laughing: At my 17-year-old making wisecracks during NBA games

Longing: For the Memphis Grizzlies to still be in the playoffs

Knowing: There are certain things I simply cannot change

Pondering: Whether or not to sign up for the half-marathon in Memphis the 1st Saturday in December

Buying: Nothing because there’s nothing in world I need

Avoiding: Complainers, gossips, slanderers, and generally negative people

Salivating: The thought of fried green tomatoes

Marveling: That a 15-pound dog can be so high-maintenance

Willing: To try to live in one of those tiny homes (except my wife would never go for it)

Leave a Reply

