Diary of a half-marathoner

Someday I’d perhaps like to go on a long hike, maybe part of the Appalachian Trail. I don’t know if I’d be up to hiking the entire distance, but maybe enough to keep me moving for a week or two weeks or a month. I’d keep a journal and at the end of each day, I’d make an entry for that day. I’d record my location and the things I saw and experienced.

Keeping an “in situ” journal is not an option for runners. You have to write about it afterwards, which requires you to remember your thoughts and the various struggles you inevitably encounter during a long run. That is what I’ve done, doing my best to remember what I was thinking as each mile ticked away. I didn’t do this last year, but I did do one for this year’s half-marathon. Here’s what it looks like:

Leave a Reply

