Apple Music: likes & dislikes

I have been using Apple Music now for two-and-a-half weeks, and know a great deal more than I did when I wrote my initial review on the day it came out on June 30. As far as design & appearance, it has no rival. The app is much better than Spotify (and Spotify is pretty darn good), better even than Apple Music’s predecessor, Beats Music. In short, it looks and feels and performs beautifully. It has no rival. Like pretty much everything else Apple does, it’s minimalist design allows you to navigate around the music app almost effortlessly.

With that said, there are two things I would change about Apple Music if I could. First, the ability to create genius playlists, which you could do with Apple’s music app (before it became Apple Music), has vanished. I miss the genius playlist option. I want it back. It enabled the user to build a playlist around one song. You’d choose a song and it would create a 25-track playlist of similar songs.

Second, there is no way to distinguish between your own personal music collection and the streaming catalog you build online. In other words, there’s no way to separate what you actually own from what you “rent.” Over time I’m sure I’ll get used to this, but I do wish there was some way to separate the two.

Also, there are at least two minor bugs in the app that I’m sure Apple will fix with future updates. Since this is the initial incarnation of Apple Music, I fully expect the experience to only get better as Apple improves on itself. It always does. 

 

Leave a Reply

