Stop picking on West Tennessee!

A website calling itself RoadSnacks has a list of the 10 worst places to live in Tennessee, a tally which is based on several variables which they explain. Of the bottom 10, six of the cities are in West Tennessee. Number 2 on the list is Humboldt, where I lived for 3-1/2 years back in the 1980’s and graduated from high school. I never thought of Humboldt as a bad place to live. But maybe it’s gone downhill since I left. At any rate, all ten selections are small towns. There are no big cities. (It’s just an observation I am making.) I’ve long contended that there are no bad places to live in Tennessee. Even if you’re one foot away from our border with Kentucky or Alabama, you’re still in the Volunteer State, so you’re on hallowed ground. But I suppose some places are better than others, even in Tennessee.

One thought on “Stop picking on West Tennessee!

  1. I don’t know that I would go so far as to declare the entire state of Tennessee to be hallowed ground and with a title for the article of “Ten Worst Places to … in Tennessee,” you had to know it would be negative, but even so, my experience has been that small towns are great places to live if you like small towns. I am a city boy myself and would not be happy in a small town (where are the used book stores? LOL!), so it’s not my thing — but for those who like that, more power to you!

    Tennessee is really not that different from Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, or any other Southern state. It has its good points and its bad. If you live here, you should be happy or work to make it better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

