My thoughts on Wednesday night’s debate

I watched a good part of Wednesday night’s Republican debate, which is something I don’t do much of, anymore. But this time I made an exception. Honestly, I can’t say much of anything changed as far as the pecking order is concerned. No one really stood out. No one fell on his face.

Overall, it was a good debate in that conservatism was on full display. What’s funny is that some of the candidates who so avidly espoused conservatism really don’t govern as conservatives: Jeb Bush, Chris Christie, John Kasich. But it is nice to see conservatism so in vogue.

I would vote for any of the following candidates for President: Donald Trump, Ben Carson, Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio, Scott Walker.

I would not vote for Mike Huckabee, Jeb Bush, Chris Christie, or John Kasich for the same reason that I would never again vote for John McCain or Mitt Romney. You might as well just vote Democrat.

I’m still undecided about Rand Paul and Carly Fiorina. Rand Paul is a libertarian, which is sort of how I lean, but I learned almost nothing about him Wednesday night and he just seems underwhelming. I like Carly Fiorina a great deal so far but don’t know enough about her to make a firm decision yet.

1. I did think Huckabee gave a terrific answer on the Constitution as it concerns gay marriage and religious liberty.

2. The question of whether you could trust this or that candidate with our nuclear weapons is misdirected. Frankly, I trust them all. The real question is why are we trusting Iran with nukes? And why would we bother at all negotiating with anyone who chants “Death to America?” How do you compromise with that?

3. The moderator wasted too much time on pure silliness, like which woman would you put on the $10 bill or what would you like your secret service code name to be. Sorry, not relevant.

4. I don’t like that so many of the candidates appear to accept the premise of global warming. The debate should never be about how we would combat climate change. We might as well debate Santa Claus. Global warming is a hoax and what we sorely need from the GOP is to play the adult for once and identify it as a hoax.

5. Planned Parenthood must be defunded and refusing to do so bacause of an inabity to override a presidential veto is just plain cowardice. Pass the bill and force President Obama to veto it. Make him own it and make sure the public knows the Democrats own the evils being perpetrated at Planned Parenthood.

6. If one of your selling points is that you can work with Democrats to get things done, then I’m not voting for you. I don’t want you to work with Democrats. I want to defeat Democrats and implement conservative ideas.

Leave a Reply

