The runner’s nod

Sometimes when I’m out running, I’ll encounter another runner. I always make it a point to give the runner’s nod, some sort of acknowledgment (a wave, a literal nod of the head, a thumb’s up). Sometimes they beat me to it. We always exchange a runner’s nod. (Yesterday, I passed a friend who was out running at the same time I was and we high-fived as we passed.) It’s just an acknowledgement among kindred souls, like saying “Hey there, I’m out here running and I see you are, too, so you keep it up.” It may seem rather trivial to a non-runner, but I’ve always gotten a little encouragement for my own endeavor by exchanging the runner’s nod.

Leave a Reply

