Exercising for free (or at least very cheap)

One of the blogs I read, called “Becoming Minimalist,” recently did a post that is very dear to me: “Health and Fitness, the Minimalist Way.” I knew what it was going to be about before I ever read it. And I was right. I am a runner, and I run for several reasons. First, it keeps me in shape. Second, I enjoy running. Third, running has enabled me to accomplish things I never thought I could, such as the half-marathon.

Other than the cost of a pair of new running shoes about every six months, it doesn’t cost me anything to run. My only investment is the time and effort I put into it. I don’t spend money on a treadmill or gym membership. I literally walk out my front door, spend a few minutes stretching, and I start running. The point to this is that it doesn’t have to cost you a lot of money to stay fit. There are many activities you can pursue besides running, such as walking or hiking, that don’t require much expense. Granted, if you are a swimmer you’d need to find a place with a pool. Or if you are a cyclist, there is the expense of a bicycle. But even that is a one-time expense. You don’t have to spend money on a gym membership, and you don’t have to purchase high-dollar exercise equipment to stay fit. It doesn’t cost anything to go outside and exert yourself. And it doesn’t cost anything extra to eat right. It’s all about the choices you make.

Leave a Reply

