Tools of the trade

Last night I had the blessing of attending a Christmas concert at my church, the Global Vision Bible Church in Mt. Juliet, Tennessee, performed by three members of the Jake Leg Stompers. The musical style is hard to describe. The tenor banjo you see photographed dates to the 1920’s and one of the guitars was made in the early 1930’s. They performed some early gospel songs (19th and early 20th century), along with an a capella blues number. I had the pleasure of speaking with one of the members of the band after their portion of the show and he was kind enough to let me photograph his instruments and explained their origins. I could have talked to him forever, as the history of music fascinates me. 

    
    
 

Leave a Reply

