Please keep it at 140

Twitter is considering expanding it’s current 140-character limit to an unbelievable 10,000. It’s impossible to foresee all the consequences ahead of time, but at first glance, I’d prefer to keep it at 140. What I like most about Twitter is the forced pithiness of writing tweets. I am not a long-winded person, nor a long-winded writer. I like the challenge of whittling an idea down to 140 characters. It sometimes requires thought. I certainly have no desire to read long tweets, either. That’s what blogs are for. I know blogs are sort of old-fashioned in 2016, but Twitter was developed specifically as a micro-blogging site. Expanding the character limit would blur those lines and Twitter would lose some of its distinction. Brevity really is the soul of wit. And I’d rather keep it brief.

Leave a Reply

