Dear establishment Republicans…

Yeah, you, with your nose in the air. I see you all endorsing Marco Rubio for president. And that’s fine. It’s politics. You are free to endorse whomever you choose. Or maybe you’re not. You’re an establishment Republican, and so you’re expected to endorse the highest-polling establishment Republican left in the race. That would be Marco Rubio. Mitt Romney has endorsed him. Lamar Alexander has endorsed him. Bill Haslam has endorsed him. The list is growing. Some of you won’t say whether you’ll vote for Donald Trump in the general election should he win the GOP nomination.

Let me tell you something. I voted for your loser candidates in 2008 and 2012. In 2008, John McCain was not my first choice, nor my second, nor my third, nor my fourth, nor probably even my fifth. But he became the GOP nominee, so like a good, dutiful Republican voter, I voted for the war hero. He ran a terrible campaign. The only smart thing he did was choose Sarah Palin as a running mate, yet not even she could drag Senator McCain across the finish line.

In 2012, Mitt Romney was not my first choice, nor my second, etc. But he became the GOP nominee, so like a good, dutiful Republican voter, I voted for Romney. He ran a terrible campaign. Two establishment Republican nominees for President both lost to a weak, very beatable candidate named Barack Obama. And the results were every bit as terrible as we feared.

So here we are in 2016, and finally it looks like my first choice is going to win the nomination, and you say you don’t know whether you’ll vote for him in November? We actually have a candidate who can beat the Democrats, unlike the milquetoast establishment Republicans of the past two elections, and you say you don’t know if you can support him? How dare you! After us conservatives held our noses and voted for your guys in 2008 and 2012, I fully expect you to hold yours in 2016 and vote for ours.

Leave a Reply

