Dreaming about running

The Rock-and-Roll Nashville marathon & half-marathon is in 27 days. This will be my 3rd half-marathon in as many years. I am so excited I can hardly stand it, but I still find myself a bit daunted by the task of running 13.1 miles in a 46-year-old body. I dedicate the 8 weeks leading up to the race for serious half-marathon training. I run year-round, but starting March 1 of every year I get really serious about it. Typically, I’ll average about 15 miles a week, but in March and April I increase that to 20 miles or more. (Last month I covered 93.5 miles in 17 runs, which is more miles than I’d ever run in a single month.)

This is also the time of year I also dream about running. The dreams are never good. Last night I had one of those dreams. I ran from my house to Providence and back, covering several side roads — I have never run this route, by the way — and my running app said I had covered something like 33 miles. My first reaction was “Great! I’ve never run 33 miles at once. That’s more than a marathon!” But then I realized my GPS had malfunctioned and I had really only covered about one-third of that distance. Also, part of the run found me hardly able to move at all. My legs were barely working and I was moving incredibly slow. This is one of my common dreams about running. I’m moving in slow motion and can’t overcome it. The other dream I have about running is that I know I need to go for a run to maintain my training, but I can’t actually get dressed and out the door. Distractions keep arising that keep me from running and I cannot physically carry out the act because something is preventing me.

It sounds obsessive, I know.

Leave a Reply

