We expect too much of our politicians

A typical poll question you see from time-to-time, especially in presidential polling, is that “so-and-so candidate cares about me.” What does this mean exactly, and how does it manifest itself?

Do you really want your elected leader caring about you? I don’t, and I’ll tell you why. My elected leaders don’t even know me. They don’t know anything about me. They don’t know what my needs are. They don’t know what’s best for me. They don’t know what I do. They don’t know what I like. They don’t know what I believe.

Therefore, so-and-so politician doesn’t care about me, nor do I want him or her to. It’s not their business to care about me. I just want them to protect the nation from its enemies and to otherwise leave me alone. I’m not bothering anyone, nor do I want to be bothered. Usually when a politician “cares” about his constituents, it manifests itself in the form of higher taxes and bigger government. The premise is that we can’t take care of ourselves and manage our own affairs, so government has to. No thanks.

I have people who care about me, and whom I care about, and that is enough. I have my affairs arranged the way I want them. I don’t need some do-gooder politician, Republican or Democrat, pretending to care about me. I really just need them to leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

