Back on Twitter

As week ago today, I made a commitment to myself that I would stay off Twitter for a week. It gave me time to really think about why I spend time on Twitter. My time is extremely valuable to me, I don’t like wasting it, and I don’t give it away easily.

I don’t want to be on Twitter just to glorify myself or portray a glorified lifestyle that doesn’t really exist. That would be to misuse social media. In fact, I briefly contemplated quitting Twitter altogether.

But after a few days, I missed Twitter. And I missed it because I have something to say. God has blessed me with the ability to articulate ideas, and I have things to say about the Christian faith, about the way the country is being run, and a few other odds and ends. There were times this past week when I really wanted to tweet something, but I also wanted to honor my commitment, so I refrained…until today.

I like being connected to certain people on Twitter. I enjoy communicating via the written word. There are things that need to be said, and I am going to take it upon myself to say them. So I have reinstalled the Twitter app, reconnected my blog, and after a week off Twitter, it is very clear to me why I do this.

Leave a Reply

