Daily musings

With the 18-year-old out of the house and at college, it is amazing how little my wife and I eat. Our grocery bill is noticeably lower, our restaurant budget is significantly lower, and the dog is dismayed at the sudden decrease in table scraps.

I figure that 70-80% of my work-related e-mails are perfectly useless.

Every time I hear someone fret about something Facebook-related, it reminds me why I’m not on Facebook. You could say, “Well, you don’t know what you’re missing.” Trust me, I’m not missing anything.

I am nearing the end of Ken Burns’ six-part documentary on World War II. What that generation accomplished is astonishing. I seriously question whether America in 2016 could duplicate such an endeavor.

Men, for goodness sake, please dress better. Stop going out in public looking like slobs. Put away the sports jerseys and faded too-small cotton t-shirts. Try to look like grown men.

Summer, 2016 is almost over. I’m going to seriously miss this summer when it’s gone.

The most authentic-tasting coffee comes from a coffee press. You just can’t drink the last little bit in your cup because a few of the granules always slip through, no matter how coarse you grind your coffee beans.

How on earth do people eat those disgusting, fat-laden, multi-layer burgers from Hardees? I like a good hamburger occasionally, but my gosh.

By far the best food I ever had in the Navy came from the mess hall in Naples, Italy. Italians did the cooking. Enough said.

The last time Americans elected a President with no prior political experiences was Dwight Eisenhower in 1952. We are about to do it again on November 8 with the election of Donald J. Trump. Ike built the interstates. Donald will build the wall.

One of the best things you can do to simplify your life is to stop trying to impress others. The less you care about what other people think, the easier life becomes.

Leave a Reply

