A place that’s left its mark on me

This is the Mid-South Coliseum in Memphis, photographed last evening from the Liberty Bowl at twilight. It is a very dear place for me. I saw my very first Memphis State basketball game here in February, 1988 (beat Florida State in a Metro Conference matchup). I saw my very first Rush concert here in May, 1992 (4th freaking row!). And I graduated from Memphis State University here in May, 1994. The coliseum has been mothballed for a decade, but the city of Memphis is still trying to find some use for the landmark.

Leave a Reply

