Headphone jack no mas

Apple unveiled its forthcoming iPhone 7, along with the second incarnation of the Apple Watch and its first-ever Bluetooth earbuds.

The iPhone 7 is going to be spectacular. The camera is significantly upgraded, including a new wide angle lens and optical zoom. The display is improved. The processor is improved. The built-in speakers are going to be in stereo. And it will be running the new iOS 10. I will be getting one of these in coming months. I am still using an iPhone 5C, which is a fabulous device that I have thoroughly enjoyed. But I’ve been using it for more than two years, by far the longest I’ve ever held onto an iPhone. (It is my third model of iPhone.) I completely skipped over the iPhone 6 series.

Perhaps the biggest single change with the iPhone 7 will be absence of the traditional 3.5 mm headphone jack. It is vanishing. Thus, iPhone’s minimalist design will become even more minimalist. There will be three options for listening to music via the new iPhone (four if you count the built-in speakers): Bluetooth, wired earbuds using the lightning adapter, or traditional 3.5 mm headphones using a 3.5-mm-to-lightning adapter that will be included with the iPhone. Apparently, Apple learned a lesson when it introduced the iPhone 5, which replaced the 30-pin connector with the new lightning jack. There was great consternation among users because we had to spend extra money on 30-pin-to-lightning adapters to continue using our 30-pin connectors. So Apple is at least including the adapter this time.

I was waiting for Apple to upgrade its Watch to the point that it can be used untethered from an iPhone. They are doing this with Series 2. The new Watch includes a GPS so that, for example, when I go running, I can just wear the Watch and not have to carry an iPhone with me. I’m not going out and buying a new Watch the moment it’s available, but I am now in the market for a possible future purchase.

Apple will also sell a set of Bluetooth earbuds that are of interest. However, at $159 for one pair, they are going to have to sound really good for me to purchase, and they will also need to be sweat resistant so I can run with them. I haven’t yet bought a pair of sport Bluetooth earbuds for running, but the day is coming soon.

Leave a Reply

