Taking stock

Today is September 12. We are a week and a half from the autumnal equinox, when it is half day and half night. After that, the nights will be longer than the days. I am going to miss the long days.

Running: The one good part about transitioning to the cool season is more favorable running weather. I run almost exclusively 5K’s during summer because I cannot do long runs in the heat. So I maintain my miles by doing lots and lots of 5K’s. This morning was the coolest we have enjoyed in some time, and I was able to run 7 miles at a good pace. It was my longest run since May. It was invigorating and quite enjoyable. It was everything I love about running.

Reading: I am actually juggling four books at the moment, which is not uncommon. I typically don’t stick to one book at a time. I’d rather read ten pages each from four different books than 40 pages from one. Right now I am reading Ulysses by James Joyce (for the 6th time), the second of a three-volume set on the Civil War by the consummate Civil War historian Shelby Foote, The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck, and Walking with Spring by Earl V. Shaffer, who, in 1948, became the first person to walk the entire Appalachian Trail. And I am currently in the book of Numbers during my chronological read-through of the Bible.

Listening: There are plenty of things I am listening to, but my most recent discovery (while poring over the new music section in Apple Music) is an instrumental group called GoGo Penguin, a quasi-jazz band that has put together several excellent recordings.

Liberating: Myself from the NFL/BLM. I am boycotting the NFL/BLM for the same reason I boycott the mainstream press. I’m not putting up with their anti-American left-wing politics. So now I have extra time on Sunday and Monday night for other, more meaningful pursuits.

Traveling: Honestly, I had an awesome summer, and we took no family trips, other than to Memphis. Our last family vacation took place in March when we went to Hilton Head Island. I haven’t missed the long trips, and I am one who loves to travel. This weekend, my wife and I are, Lord willing, headed to Memphis for Parent-Family Weekend. We hope to get on the 18-year-old’s schedule at some point, but they do have several activities for the parents, and a football game. We are excited about this.

Cooking: Many new recipes at home, most of them from the South Beach Diet. The picky-eating youngster is away, so we are expanding the menu at Casa Rose.

Finally, I leave you with a photo of a silo I made the other way while driving through Guthrie, Kentucky on the way back from Clarksville. (Highway 41 passes briefly into Kentucky before taking you to Springfield and then Nashville.) I’m not sure if the silo is still in use, but it looks like it could be.

Leave a Reply

