Sunday musings

Twenty-six years ago, I took a 15-day Eurail trip through western Europe. I don’t know that I could safely do that today.

Miles Davis’ 1964 jazz record “Quiet Nights” was panned by music critics. I don’t quite understand their distaste. I have listened to the album several times and it’s every bit as good as his other recordings from this era.

I try not to complain about the weather. It doesn’t do any good. The atmosphere is continually trying to achieve a state of equilibrium, even though a state of equilibrium (the same atmospheric pressure everywhere) will never occur. So whatever the atmosphere gives you is what you’re supposed to have.

I do not miss the NFL. Not even a little.

Even though the autumnal equinox occurred three days ago, the equilux happens today.

I am pretty good at finding lost items.

Last evening the Memphis Tigers tied the school record for most points in a quarter (35), a half (56), and set a modern school record for most points in a game (77). Yes, it was “only” Bowling Green State U. Last year we beat them 44-41 in a contest that came down to the last play. This year, not so much. It wasn’t that long ago we were getting blown out by teams like BGSU. So I don’t take winning for granted. Also, Mike Norvell becomes the first head coach in school history to win his first 3 games. Number 4 will be a lot more difficult.

I’m really not interested in “deluxe” albums that contain “bonus tracks.” I really just want to hear an album exactly as it was intended by the artist with no extras.

Hillary Clinton keeps bragging about her lifetime of standing up for women’s rights, equality, advancement, etc. I really don’t know what she’s done to advance women in any way. If you are one of those “strong, independent women” who don’t need a man, why would you need a woman fighting for you?

If you make a list of everything you’re thankful for it will amaze you.

Leave a Reply

