Word to the wise

Last evening a National Anthem singer showed up at a Philadelphia 76’ers game wearing a “We Matter” jersey. Team officials told her she could not sing the anthem wearing that jersey.

Good for them.

I hope the NBA is paying attention to what is happening to the NFL’s television ratings as several players are disrespecting their country by sitting out the National Anthem every Sunday. Hopefully, the NBA wants no part of this. I don’t want to have to boycott the NBA, too.

As a fan, I’m not interested in seeing politics injected into sports. I see and hear politics literally everywhere I go. It has seeped into everything. I like an escape every so often. If you start politicizing sports, then I’ll have to find an escape elsewhere.

Bravo, 76’ers.

Leave a Reply

