Taking stock at the end of October

Unbelievably, there are only two months left in 2016. Five-sixths of the year is behind us.

When I started the month, I set a goal for myself to run 80 miles in October. Yesterday, I crossed that threshold. It was only the sixth time I’ve ever run that much in a month. The best running months are March, April, October and November. The summer months allow for frequent running, but fewer miles per run, so my total mileage actually decreases. The winter months allow for fewer runs, but more miles per run, so the effect is largely the same as in summer. The spring and autumn months afford the best of both worlds.

I’m juggling four books at the moment. I like to shift between books, which means it takes longer to finish a each book, but I enjoy the challenge of balancing multiple plots simultaneously. Currently, I am reading two historical novels and two autobiographies. The settings and characters are as varied as the seasons.

Church is going quite well. The building routinely fills up (or very close to it) for the Wednesday evening Bible study, and also for our weekend services. However, our online ministry is burgeoning. I very much enjoy being part of the media team. It is the best job in church I’ve ever had. The technology we are incorporating is becoming increasingly complex, and I am trying to learn more things.

With future smartphone technology more or less forcing a transition to Bluetooth, I just ordered my first pair of sport Bluetooth earbuds for running. I’ll let you know how this goes.

With two more garbage bags full of clothes donated to Goodwill, our possessions have become even fewer. I’m having a hard time coming up with even a meager Christmas list. There’s really nothing I need, and I’m not going to ask people to buy for me just for the sake of buying something. My wife and I came up with the shortest Christmas list ever. We are upgrading to iPhone 7’s shortly (replacing our current iPhone 5c’s) and calling that our Christmas to each other. I do need new running shoes, but that will be for my birthday coming up (in 18 days).

The election is 8 days away. I can’t wait for it to be over.

Leave a Reply

