Baseball & Americana

Although my interest in baseball has waned somewhat in recent years in favor of basketball and college football, I have watched the World Series this year with great interest. Someone is about to win a championship that hasn’t won in my lifetime. The Cleveland Indians could wrap it up this evening. They haven’t won the World Series since 1948. Or the Cubs could win tonight and set themselves up for a championship opportunity tomorrow. They haven’t won the World Series since 1908.

I have enjoyed watching October (now November) baseball for another reason, though: no politics. There’s not a single baseball player protesting the National Anthem. And during the 7th inning stretch you get either “Take Me out to the Ballgame” or “God Bless America.” It’s like a grand patriotic celebration where we can all be Americans together and altogether escape from politics for a few wonderful hours.

And I still don’t miss the NFL. I never realized how irrelevant it is until I banished it from my life.

Leave a Reply

