Sunday musings

Jill Stein is raising money for a recount in three swing states that Trump won. And they blasted for Trump for his wait-and-see approach regarding election results. Jill Stein is a leftist and it wouldn’t surprise me if the Clinton machine is behind this scheme. It won’t amount to anything. My guess is it’s all about the money.

College football is sort of in a pickle. Ohio State is currently the number two team in the nation, which places them unquestionably in the four-team playoff. The problem is they aren’t going to be Big Ten champions. Penn State plays Wisconsin for the conference championship next Saturday. If Penn State wins, they have a legitimate claim to a playoff berth. In spite of two losses, Ohio State’s only loss came to Penn State. I have a serious problem with non-conference champions making the round of four. Even if all four teams selected are conference champions, it still means one of the five power conference champions gets left out. If Ohio State is left in, then two Power 5 champions are left out. This is wrong.

I didn’t buy anything on Black Friday. According to advertisers, I should be unhappy and unfulfilled. The only way to achieve nirvana is to go shopping on Black Friday and spend tons of money. But I stayed home and watched Memphis beat Houston with my 19-year-old, who was home for Thanksgiving. There’s not a thing I could have bought that would have produced as much joy. And it didn’t cost me a cent.

Speaking of Memphis, last year’s win over Ole Miss was the Tigers’ first over a ranked opponent in 19 years. On Friday, they did it again by beating 18th ranked Houston. This really improves Memphis’ bowl appeal. They finished the regular season 8-4 with a win over a top 25 team. Had they lost, the would have finished 7-5 with a .500 conference record. That’s a big difference.

I’m thinking of accepting my pastor’s challenge of carrying my Bible everywhere I go for the next 30 days. He says people sort of avoid you when you’ve got a Bible. As an introvert, this prospect is quite appealing.

They have completed road construction at the I-40/I-240 interchange in Memphis. I never thought I’d live to see this happen.

It was wonderful to see the Chicago Cubs win their first World Series in 108 years, but please knock it off with the championship gear. There can’t be that many legitimate Cubs fans in the Nashville area.

The ancient Israelites so revered God’s name that they wouldn’t even spell it out. Today, we throw around the Lord’s name like it’s slang. I cringe whenever I hear someone say “Oh, good Lord” or “Oh, my God.” And please don’t use the “Xmas” abbreviation. It’s “Christmas.”

I finally broke down and purchased a Bluetooth keyboard for typing on my iPad. I can type on an iPad without it, but it has always been cumbersome for me. So now typing is like it used to be on a laptop. I honestly can’t remember the last time I used a laptop for anything. I hate Windows.

Flannel sheets make winter bearable.

Leave a Reply

