Forced hiatus

The disagnosis yesterday was a sinus infection. I get those at least twice a year, usually spring and fall. My fall infection was late getting here.  Fortunately I have a little time off from work to recuperate. Needless to say, my running has been suspended for a few days. I really hate this because I’ll go stir crazy soon. I could probably hobble through a run today but I also probably shouldn’t. I just pulled off rare back-to-back 80-mile months in October & November so maybe this is how a 47-year-old body says it needs a break. It’s about to turn cold, too. Maybe this weekend I’ll feel up to running again. I haven’t been forced off the streets since February of last year (gastroenteritis). I’ve been blessed to be injury-free all this time while I’ve watched co-workers who are also runners go down with injuries. So I really have no reason to complain. Thank God (literally) for antibiotics.

Leave a Reply

