My first Bluetooth keyboard

Oh, the marvels of Bluetooth. It’s where we’re headed, anyway. With the production of the iPhone 7, Apple removed the traditional 3.5 mm headphone jack. Granted, you can still plug in your earbuds via the lightning jack, but the technology is gently pushing us toward Bluetooth.

But this is a keyboard review.

A few weeks ago, I purchased my first Bluetooth keyboard. I have toyed with the idea for a couple of years, always deciding against purchasing one because I reasoned my iPad has a built-in keyboard right on the screen, so why be redundant and buy anything external? I’ve gotten pretty good at typing on the iPad keyboard, but it’s never been quite as efficient as typing on a traditional keyboard, so this time I broke down and purchased one on Amazon that came with solid reviews and a price tag of just $19.97. I wanted one that was rechargeable and not too large, and I have found the perfect one, an Arteck HB030B.

There are tons of Bluetooth keyboards available, and you could spend hours searching online for the perfect one. I settled for the Arteck, and I have no regrets. It’s small enough to fit in my backpack, just 9.3 inches long and 5.3 inches wide, and only a quarter-inch thick. It’s durable and holds a charge for quite a long time. I’ve been using it close to a month and have not had to recharge it since the initial charge.

(One caveat, if you have large hands, you’ll need a larger keyboard.)

At any rate, I gave up using a laptop maybe two years ago. I found that I can do everything I need to do using an iOS device. We do have an old Windows laptop that my wife stil uses on occasion. If it were up to me, I’d get rid of it. It’s slow and clunky and it’s also Windows. My iPad mini I purchased three years ago is still in top shape and I’ve not had a single reason to upgrade. Sync a Bluetooth keyboard to it, and it functions better than the laptop. I know there are new laptops out there that are high quality and more robust than an iPad. I just have no use for one, personally. I’m blogging on it right now, in fact. It is also my reader, my movie/TV screen, music player, photo manager, banker, and a lot of other things.

I also upgraded to an iPhone 7 last week and am really amazed. It’s slightly larger than the iPhone 5C I had been using, and the new screen size is such that I can actually do some writing on the iPhone using the same keyboard. For convenience, size, and portability, you really can’t beat the Bluetooth keyboard/iOS device combination. I know this sort of arrangement wouldn’t work for some people who might need a more versatile machine for professional uses, or some such other, but for me, I just cannot beat this arrangement.

Leave a Reply

