Amazon Prime

I recently started an Amazon Prime membership. We don’t buy a lot of things, but we do use Amazon.com for a lot of the purchases we do make, and so I thought I’d give it a try.

I do like the free 2-day shipping. When I order something, I do like to get it, and free 2-day shipping is hard to beat. That by itself is almost worth the membership price.

But Amazon Prime members also have access to a large library of movies and TV shows. We recently canceled our Netflix membership, both DVD and streaming. We literally ran out of things to watch. Perhaps once or twice a month, a movie comes out we want to see, and I’d prefer to run to Redbox and spend $1.50 to rent for a day.

For my purposes, Amazon Prime Video, which comes with your Prime membership, actually has a better selection of titles than Netflix’s streaming library, which rather surprised me. Whereas I ran out of things to watch on Netflix, I have already found several titles on Amazon Prime I want to watch. The only drawback is that they don’t have an Apple TV app, but with the iPhone/iPad app, you can still stream to your TV, so that’s an easy obstacle to overcome.

Although the shipping and video options are all I’m using Amazon Prime for at the moment, it has other uses, like music streaming, unlimited photo storage, certain free books and periodicals, and a few others. Given that an Amazon Prime membership costs about what Netflix costs, it made sense to me to cancel Netflix and start Amazon Prime.

Leave a Reply

