Friday musings

Today is the last Friday of 2016. However, as a shift worker, it’s only Wednesday to me.

This has absolutely nothing to do with Vladimir Putin or the #fakenews about Russian hackers, but I have discovered an odd fascination with the works of various Russian (or at least Russian-born) authors. I’m currently reading Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. It’s a very long novel, but not as long as War & Peace. In recent years, I’ve also read works by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Alexander Solzhenitsyn and Ayn Rand. I can’t really explain this fascination.

Not only has my boycott of the NFL remained intact all the way to the last weekend of the regular season — this is the last weekend of the regular season, isn’t it? — but I find myself watching less sports in general. I still keep up with my teams, of course. I haven’t boycotted everything, you see. It’s just that the allure of watching sporting events has waned recently. It’s something the 19-year-old and I used to do frequently. But he’s in college now. In place of watching sports I find myself reading even more than I used to. I read 63 books this year, or one about every six days. I didn’t watch nearly that many sporting events.

I don’t particularly care for cold weather, but it’s just plain weird when it’s in the 60’s or 70’s this time of year. There is a time and a season for everything, and right now it’s time for it to be cold.

Three days ago, I completed all of my running goals for 2016. I promised my 47-year-old body I wouldn’t ask anything more of it until 2017. Normally, I go stir crazy if I go this long without running. But I’ve actually enjoyed the break so far.

Rush Limbaugh has taken off all this week. He either fills the void with reruns of previous shows or live shows with guest hosts. His guest hosts are all top-notch, but none of them are equal to Rush. And so I don’t bother listening to the podcast when Rush is out. Honestly, I need a break from politics every once-in-a-while, so I’m taking the week off, too.

“Knock-knock” jokes never work on introverts. You can say “knock-knock” all you want, but you’ll never get us to say, “who’s there?”

Imagine telling someone 20 years ago that in 2016, they’d be doing most everything via the cloud, Wifi and Bluetooth, and that you would own a smartphone with 128GB of storage.

Donald J. Trump has done more good for the American private sector in 7 weeks as president-elect than Barack Obama did in eight years as POTUS.

I guess all the hysteria over Trump getting us into a war with Russia was just projection. President Obama, acting on the #fakenews of Russia hacking our election, has just waged a massive setback in American-Russian relations. It’s just another mess for Trump to have to clean up. And don’t even get me started on Israel. What the man-child is doing these last few weeks of an already failed presidency is nothing short of sabotage.

Leave a Reply

