Tuesday musings

The older I get, the more I appreciate Richard Nixon.

With increasing frequency, I find myself thumbing my nose at conventional wisdom and doing my own thing. I have yet to be wrong.

Meryl Streep has reminded us that Hollywood actors are brilliant when portraying others, complete buffoons when portraying themselves.

Donald Trump never said he wanted to deport Hollywood actors. In fact, they promised to deport themselves to Canada if Trump won. Unfortunately, they are still with us.

The weather is going to what it wants to do when it wants to do it.

I know SiriusXM has dozens of music channels to select from, but I pretty much leave mine set on Real Jazz (channel 67).

Never tell a “knock-knock” joke to an introvert. We don’t answer the door and won’t ever respond, “Who’s there.”

Last night’s national championship game has to be one of the greatest of all time.

I did not have a vested interest in the national championship, but I am grateful Clemson won because it will mean a great deal fewer Alabama bandwagon fans. They are like a swarm of locusts here.

Walter Johnson is credited with 110 complete game shutouts in his pitching career with the Washington Senators. This amazes me. Do you know how rare complete game shutouts are anymore?

Ever time I forecast snow, I brace for the inevitable “rush to Kroger for bread and milk” jokes. I can’t believe anyone still finds humor in these.

At 47 years of age, I feel I no longer have to suffer fools. I simply ignore them. This is incredibly liberating.

Donald Trump’s cabinet is being reviled by Democrats for being too rich, as though John Kerry isn’t too rich. Trump’s cabinet is an all-star team of accomplished private sector executives. They are not to be reviled, but are to be applauded and emulated.

Leave a Reply

