Inauguration Day 2017

There are so many things I want to write about today that my fingers can’t keep up. So I think I’ll take the minimalist approach and just hit the highlights.

Today is the day we’ve all been waiting for. Donald J. Trump is the 45th President of the United States. The era of Obama is over. We got through it.

If you’re one of those American citizens who is convinced Trump is going to ruin your life, then a lack of motivation is your enemy and not Trump. I thought of Obama what you think of Trump, and I’m better off today than I was 8 years ago. It wasn’t because of Obama, though. It’s because I attack each day with determination.

Trump’s speech was relatively brief, and wholeheartedly Reaganesque. After listening to Obama drone on about high unemployment and economic malaise as “the new normal,” Trump quickly did away with that. We can achieve greatness again because we’ve done it before. It was an optimism we haven’t heard from high office in quite some time.

There were three takeaway from Trump’s speech that just made me giddy: 1) from now on, we’re putting America first, 2) we’ve got a huge mess to clean up and we’re going to get it done, and 3) Washington has done really well these last 8 years but Americans haven’t shared in the prosperity, and so we’re returning the government to the people.

While watching Trump give his speech, we were also simultaneously watching the unraveling of Obama’s legacy with each word. Almost every sentence was a slam on Obama and the carnage that was his presidency. But it’s over now. It’s time to begin cleaning up the mess.

It was wonderful to hear. Honestly, I never thought I’d hear words like these emanate from Washington, D.C. ever again. I’m grateful that my 19-year-old got to experience this. It was his last best chance to experience what I got to experience with Reagan as an adolescent.

What a great day for the country. I’ve lived long enough to see a few of these transitions of power, but today’s was the most meaningful because of what we’ve just been through, and also because of all the obstacles Trump and we, Les Deplorables, had to overcome to get to this day. I you’re like me and stuck with Trump from day one without wavering, then you know what I mean.

What we witnessed today is something that we take for granted in the United States. The peaceful transition of power has become routine every 4 or 8 years, but in the course of human events, it’s still extraordinarily rare.

Let’s make America great again, everyone.

Leave a Reply

