Talkin’ baseball

The thought has just occurred to me that spring training begins this month. Of course, opening day for Major League Baseball is still two months away, but I find myself mildly excited at the prospect of baseball season in 2017. For at least the last two seasons, the thought of baseball has hardly caused a ripple. I just couldn’t get excited about it. I don’t know if it’s the void created by #boycottNFL, or the fact the baseball hasn’t become politicized the way the NFL (and, to a lesser extent, the NBA) has, but baseball has taken on some of the allure it once held for me years ago. I don’t know how the season is going to go for the Phillies. Last season they showed some improvement after having the worst record in baseball in 2015. They have the potential this year to be a .500 team, which would represent another improvement. I’m not making that prediction. I’m just saying they do have that potential. At any rate, I find myself ready to watch some baseball again.

Leave a Reply

