Taking stock on the first day of spring

Today is the first day of Spring, 2017. Honestly, it has felt like spring since January, with just a smattering of winter worked in here and there. But today is the equinox. And it definitely feels like spring today.

Reading: I just started Erik Larson’s most recent novel, Dead Wake, which is about the sinking of the Lusitania during World War I. Larson writes some of the best non-fiction I’ve ever read. He gives you a first-class history lesson and entertains you all at the same time. I’m looking forward to this one.

Running: I’m doing reasonably well, but not as well as I had hoped to be. Of course, I’m grateful to be running at all, even though I’ve been doing mostly 5K’s. Recovering from injury is a bear. I’m running a half-marathon in less than six weeks. It will be my 4th one, but I’m resigned to the reality that I will be the least prepared I’ve ever been. I’m going to train as best I can. My goal is to get in at least one 11+ mile run before the event. I’ll be mostly prepared, but not fully prepared. Regardless, I’m showing up the morning of April 29th and running a half-marathon. Period.

Eating: This evening we’re having stuffed pork tenderloin.

Traveling: Other than the occasional trip to Memphis, we haven’t been much of anywhere since Hilton Head Island one year ago. The week after next, Mrs. Lefty and I are planning on driving to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge for the first time in, I believe, 7 years. This time, it will just be the two of us.

Mowing: Not yet, but it will likely take place next week. I am not looking forward to it. But I am looking forward to the warm season. And you can’t have one without the other. Meh. It still beats winter.

Worshipping: As many as 5 times a week. I used to teach Sunday School, but nowadays I operate a video camera. Jesus doesn’t need a teacher where we go to church. But He does need a camera operator. So I do this joyfully. We recently added a third Sunday morning service in addition to our Wednesday and Saturday evening services, so I get an earful during the course of a week.

Listening: Apple Radio a lot when I’m at home or at work, and to Sirius 67 “Real Jazz” when I’m in the car.

Wanting: Nothing. My wish list is empty. I have literally everything a person could want.

Anticipating: Baseball season (for me, anyway) starts on April 3 when the Phillies visit Cincinnati. However, the Memphis Tigers are 12-7 so far this season. I haven’t watched much sports lately. In fact, I have yet to watch a single NCAA tournament game. But I am looking forward to watching some baseball this year (sports WITHOUT politics, please).

Leave a Reply

