How I stay upbeat and optimistic in the era of #fakenews, fake outrage, pathological lying, deceit & other fakery

We are lied to daily by politicians and #fakenews reporters. We are told that we are causing the climate to change, that we are undertaxed, that the Republicans are out to bankrupt us or outright kill us and starve our children. Trump is trying to poison us and make our pharmaceuticals unaffordable. Women are oppressed, except those living in the Middle East. They’ve got it great. Everything is hysteria. We are expected to worry about everything. We are supposed to consume this product and believe that lie and prepare for cataclysms that do not exist. This is the world in which we live.

Jesus is my Savior.

My ultimate hope is in the risen Messiah. Where else am I going to go?

We are told to dwell in the world but not be of the world. And so I live in the world but shut much of it out.

As for the rest, well, how do I stay upbeat and optimistic? Let me tell you.

If you watch #fakenews or follow any of the #fakenews outlets on social media, you’ll soon find yourself a basket case. I don’t follow #fakenews of any sort in any way. I follow only a few people on Twitter, either people I know or other reliable conservatives. I am not on Facebook, for about a thousand reasons. Maybe two thousand. I listen to Rush Limbaugh every day without fail. Every. Single. Day. I get my news regarding the Trump administration directly from President Trump on Twitter. Yes, I trust him not to lie to me every bit as much as I trust the #fakenews media and Democrats to lie to me.

I do not trust in gimmicks or financial gurus or healers. I do not believe that guns kill people or that Islam is the religion of peace or that white males are inherently evil. I am not a racist or a homophobe or an Islamophobe or a xenophobe. Or a misogynist. I do, however, have an almost paralyzing fear of snakes. I am also afraid of heights. These are my only real phobias.

There are only two genders: male and female.

I have certain biases. The only thing different between me and those who say they have no biases is that I admit I have biases. I am intolerant of some things because some things are just plain stupid. The only thing different between me and those who claim tolerance is that I admit I am intolerant of some things.

I can “coexist” only with those who leave me alone.

I am an introvert. If I am plugged in, do not bother me. If I am not plugged in, do not bother me.

Much, if not most of the accusations that fly back-and-forth are examples of projection. If someone accuses me of racism, I just assume that the other person is racist. If someone calls me an idiot, I assume my accuser is an idiot. Accusations tend to reveal much more about the accuser than the accused.

I am not a social justice warrior. I am not a white knight. I love and cherish my wife and simultaneously believe liberal feminism is a cancer on women and families. And beta males, but that’s their fault.

My family brings me joy. We look after each other.

I enjoy sports, but only as long as it isn’t politicized. As soon as politics in injected into sports, I turn it off. #boycottNFL

I believe in what I see and hear. I trust myself. I rarely believe what I am told without verifying. When #fakenews manages to squirt through my otherwise impermeable wall, I immediately assume it is a lie…because it most likely is.

I have hobbies that occupy my time when I am not at work or doing things around the house that need to be done. I am an avid runner. I love to run. I am an avid reader, but am very choosy about what I read. I write things occasionally. I listen to copious amounts of music. I also like to cook. I enjoy being outside. Summers spent in the hammock are the best. I occasionally watch a movie. I rarely watch TV.

I am smarter than most of the people who hold public office. I am smarter than the #fakenews reporters who lie to us. If you cannot say this about yourself, then educate yourself until it becomes true. As soon as you become immune to lying politicians and #fakenews reporters, they cease being a threat to you and you then become a threat to them. They’ll hate you for it.

Be the go-to person in your inner circle. Be the one other people turn to for clarification. Explain yourself with confidence and assuredness. Learn to articulate as succinctly as possible.

If I could reduce all this to a simple formula, it would be this: trust Jesus, do what brings you joy, be your own person, stay healthy, educate yourself, shut out those things (and people) who cause you discouragement.

Leave a Reply

