Monday morning May 1 musings

We just witnessed the most wildly successful first 100 days of any presidency during my lifetime.

The “Team Tennessee” commercial that aired on Fox Sports South where the Predators players wished the Memphis Grizzlies luck and the Grizzlies players wished the Nashville Predators luck was awesome. It is so rare to see Memphis and Nashville give each other props. (Leave it to sports to bring people together.) I wish this would happen more often.

In the 21 hours following Saturday morning’s half-marathon, I slept about 12 hours.

As an introvert, I perceive that I have built-in mannerisms that are naturally off-putting. I don’t mean to be this way. (Well, sometimes I do.) My only evidence for this is my observation that extroverts at work will often pass me over and seek out other extroverts for their endless chatter. Believe me, I’m totally fine with this.

At last year’s annual physical, my doctor suggested it might be a good idea to cut down on red meat. So I’ve cut down on red meat, and I really haven’t missed it. I don’t even crave it much, except the occasional desire for a hamburger.

I often wish I could have one catch-all password for everything.

I’ve used a couple of Trump tax cut calculators on the web, and it looks like the tax cut, if enacted as is, would save my family somewhere around $1,500 a year. It never occurs to me to turn down a tax cut because some rich guy will save a great deal more than me. But Democrats would keep me from getting a tax cut just so a rich guy won’t get his. I simply cannot rationalize this sort of thinking.

By the way, Trump’s tax cut isn’t really a tax cut, per se. Rush Limbaugh explained this last week and it makes sense. The tax cut will simply be a cut in the tax rates. The federal government will likely see its revenue increase after the tax rates are reduced, so overall taxes will be going up as a result of economic growth resulting from the lower tax rates. Liberals do not understand this. Don’t bother trying to explain it to them, either.

In 1981, the year President Reagan assumed office, federal receipts were 500-and-something billion dollars. While in office, the top tax rate was slashed from 70% to 28%. In 1989, the year President Reagan left office, federal receipts were 900-and-something billion dollars. In other words, tax revenue nearly doubled during the Reagan presidency. Don’t let politicians fool you into thinking that tax cuts have to be “paid for.” The are “paid for” with economic growth.

Twice in the last few months, a realtor has called our home asking if we are planning on selling soon. Property values are booming in Mt. Juliet and I guess there’s money to be made. I’ve never had a realtor call me before asking if I’m selling. We’ve lived here for 18 years and are not selling. We enjoy our home and I honestly don’t think we could improve upon our current situation. Sometimes the grass is greenest right where you’re standing.

Leave a Reply

