My church family

My wife and I started attending a church about a mile from our house a little more than 4 years ago. We have grown quite attached to our small church and the good folks who worship with us. The thing that attracted me most when we first started attending was the authenticity of the other worshipers. I never felt like anyone was putting on airs or pretending to be something they weren’t. I still feel that way today. My church family is very dear to me.

The past year has seen us endure a great deal of turmoil. We lost about half our membership, dwindling from four weekend services to three, and then two. It has been discouraging at times, but never once did we ever consider joining the exodus. In fact, the thought of changing churches and starting over again is physically nauseating. I cannot fathom walking out on my church family at this point. They are simply too dear to me. It would be like a divorce.

We live in an age when church membership is considered disposable. People will “church hop” at the slightest provocation, and the concept of unconditional loyalty to the church is foreign. Church people are excited when there’s growth and things are humming along smoothly, but turn fickle when there’s turmoil and dwindling membership.

I enjoy seeing my church family every time I’m there. Everyone who is there is there for a reason, and everyone who has weathered this storm and stayed loyal to “the bride of Christ” has been tested and refined by fire. Good for all of us. I don’t know if our numbers will ever return to what they were a year ago, but that’s not something I control. The one thing I do control is taking church membership and the church family serious enough to stay loyal and not be affected by rumors and innuendo.

I have nothing against anyone who left. I’ve never once tried to talk anyone out of leaving. I leave them alone and expect them to reciprocate. I’m thankful that I stayed put because there is great value and reward in loyalty.

One response to “My church family”

  1. Robert thompson Avatar
    Robert thompson

    Colleen and I feel that way about our current church family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment