Christmas is doing just fine

I used to scour right-wing news sites around this time of year looking for examples of the “War on Christmas.” I would come across a handful of examples of Nativity scenes being verboten, Santa bans and candy cane cancelations and Gospel reading no-no’s. I’d post them on my blog and write newspaper articles about them. And those things do happen in isolated instances. But this does not represent a War on Christmas. In truth, I’ve never been prevented from celebrating Christmas the way my family chooses to celebrate Christmas. I’ve never had anyone bah humbug my cheer. My church has always properly celebrated the birth of Christ. My wife and I typically attend at least one Christmas concert a year. (This year we went to three!) Granted, a lot of people don’t celebrate Christmas. And that’s fine, too. As a general rule, I don’t get in their way and they don’t get in mine. I’ve even read news stories and op/eds on left-wing sites and the New York Times that revel in the Christmas story — even from a Christian perspective. So I was wrong all those years ago. I was literally trying to be victimized by making sky-is-falling declarations about the War on Christmas, when there really isn’t one. Christmas seems to be doing just fine. The Grinch did not succeed in his endeavor. Maybe the Grinch isn’t so powerful, after all.

Leave a comment